Johns Hopkins University - Human Resources - Faculty, Staff & Retiree Program

28th Anniversary Martin Luther King Jr. Commemoration

Excitement is building for Johns Hopkins’ 2010 Martin Luther King Jr. Commemoration, which will be held Friday, Jan. 15, at noon in Turner Auditorium.  This marks the 28th annual celebration, which will open with Unified Voices and their trademark gospel selections. The keynote address will be delivered by the legendary Emmy and Academy Award winning actor Lou Gossett Jr. (Officer and a Gentleman). Eight Hopkins employee recipients of the MLK Community Service Awards will be honored for their extraordinary volunteerism.
The event will be simulcast to Hopkins Hospital's Hurd Hall, Tilghman Auditorium and Patient TV Channel 54, Johns Hopkins Bayview Asthma and Allergy Auditorium, Applied Physical Lab-Kossiakoff Center Auditorium, Bond Street Wharf third floor conference room, Homewood-Arellano Theater/Levering Hall, Suburban Hospital Auditorium and Mt. Washington Conference Room Davis C113.

2010 MLK Community Service Awards Recipients

Susan Sawyer Ortiz, Finance Administration
Laxmi (Lucky) Pellakuru, Pathology
Nam Pho, Advanced Academic Programs
Jennifer Walker, Pediatrics/Adolescent Medicine

Hospital/Health System
Eric Ausby, JHH/JHHS OR Assistant Supervisor
Dan Buccino, JHH/JHHS, Bayview, LCSW-C, Community Psychiatry
Donna Chase, JHHC, External Affairs & Communications Manager
Leslie Johnson, JHH/JHHS LT Senior Supervisor, Corp Security

Keynote speakers at the Annual Johns Hopkins
Martin Luther King, Jr. Commemoration Celebration:

    2010 - Lou Gossett Jr.
    2009 - Lynn Whitfield, Congressman Elijah E. Cummings
    2008 - Levi Watkins
    2007- Maya Angelou
    2006 - James Earl Jones
    2005 - Rev. Jesse Jackson
    2004 - Cicely Tyson
    2003 - Danny Glover & Harry Belafonte, Ideals Award Recipient
    2002 - Coretta Scott King
    2001 - John Lewis and Dick Gregory, Ideals Award Recipient
    2000 - Taylor Branch
    1999 - Julian Bond
    1998 - Levi Watkins, Benjamin Carson
    1997 - Kweisi Mfume
    1996 - The Rev. Bernice King
    1995 - Sweet Honey in the Rock
    1994 - Yolanda King, Ossie Davie and Ruby Dee
    1993 - Johnetta Coles and Maya Angelou
    1990 - Stevie Wonder
    1988 - Rosa Parks and Ralph Abernathy
    1987 - Zenani Mandela and Benjamin Hooks
    1986 - The Rev. Desmond Tutu
    1985 - Harry Belafonte
    1984 - Andrew Young
    1983 - Coretta Scott King
    1982 - Martin Luther King III and Bernard Lee

Updated Jan 2010
JHU Office of Faculty, Staff & Retiree Programs.
Contact with questions or comments about this site.